THE GROWING WRITER | Writing a Book Series

THE GROWING WRITER | Writing a Book Series

In 2006, I entered that year with a deep desire for change. During my journal writing time, I started to write scenes. My curiosity grew and the scenes became chapters and after several stops and starts, a story had grown into a novel. I knew by the time I finished my first novel that a few of the minor characters would have their own story, so the Victory Gospel Series was born.

For other authors, a series may be born when readers become attached to a character from the first novel. That’s when you see authors continue to write one book after another with the same character. After writing When Rain Falls, I realized readers really liked the main characters, Candace and Darnell.

As I started writing When Memories Fade, I wasn’t sure how Candace and Darnell would fit. While the books are apart of the same series, I enjoy series that are more stand-alone stories. Meaning if a reader read When Memories Fade before reading When Rain Falls, they wouldn’t feel lost or as if they were missing something.

For fans of When Rain Falls, I’m happy to let you know the Victory Gospel Series has grown into a true book series. Candace and Darnell return as supporting characters and there is a nice update to their story in When Memories Fade. I’m getting ready to write the third and final book in the Victory Gospel Series. I’ve been waiting years to write and look forward to developing the story behind Lenora Freeman, the First Lady of Victory Gospel Church. Stay tuned!

About the Book

Angel Roberts has embraced her new faith, but past memories remain fresh. When her beloved grandmother suffers a stroke, Angel sets out to investigate a mystery that has created family tensions and lingered since she was five years old. What happened to her mother?

She teams up with investigative reporter, Wes Cade, a man obsessed with his Alzheimer stricken grandfather’s remaining memories. As Angel lets her guard down with Wes, his determination to get the story could push her to the edge. Is his interest in her or the story?

Angel must conquer her fears to find the truth. Unknown to her someone close is working feverishly to stop Angel from unlocking the truth of what really happened to her mother. Who will win?

About the Author

Tyora Moody is an author and entrepreneur.  Tyora has coined her books as Soul-Searching SuspenseHer debut novel, When Rain Falls, was released March 2012 (Urban Christian). This is the first book in the Victory Gospel series. The second book in the Victory Gospel Series, When Memories Fadewill be released in April 2013 (Urban Christian). Deep Fried Trouble, the first book in the Eugeena Patterson Mystery series will be released June 2013.